2016 Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize

This year’s Aidoo-Snyder Book Prize of $500 will be given for creative work. The Award aims to promote and celebrate the best original work by an African woman (or women) prioritizing African women’s experience. To this end, the committee invites nominations, based on the criteria below. Please note that authors may submit their own work, or publishers may submit authors’ works.

The committee may chose to award an Honorable Mention for a highly regarded runner-up. The award will be announced in September 2016 and the award will be given at the Women’s Caucus Luncheon at the 2016 ASA Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.


1. The Aidoo-Snyder creative book prize will be given for the best original creative, non-academic work by an African woman that prioritizes African women’s experience.
To this end, the committee invites nominations of novels, plays, short stories, and poetry from publishers or authors. Collections of stories by one author are eligible, but not anthologies containing work by different authors. Self-published books are not eligible, and entries may only be submitted for consideration once.

The prize is open to authors who have published books in English and English translation in the two years preceding the award year. The works must significantly deal with Africa (including Cape Verde, and the Islands off the West Coast of Africa; Madagascar; and the Indian Ocean Islands off the East African Coast)

2. Applicants to the Aidoo-Snyder Prize must be current members of the Women’s Caucus when they submit their entry. Dues-paying members must be up to date on their dues to apply, and those qualifiying for free memberships must sent membership information to the WC Treasurer (see WC Membership Page). Current members of the book prize committee are not eligible to apply.

3. Applicants for the Aidoo-Snyder Prize must submit the following to the selection committee, whose names and addresses are listed below:

a. One copy of the entry for each committee member.

b. One copy of the application form (See Book Prize Application page).

Book Prize Committee Members:


Dr. Elisabeth McMahon, Committee Chair
Department of History
Tulane University
115 Hebert Hall
6823 St. Charles Ave.
New Orleans, LA 70118

Dr. Fahamisha Brown

178 Castleton Avenue #1-6

Staten Island, NY 101301-3033

Dr. Louisa Egbunike

29 Meyrick Road

London NW10 2EL


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *